The Constitution of India, which was adopted in 1950, provides for the protection of fundamental rights of its citizens, including human rights. Part III of the Indian Constitution includes a list of fundamental rights that every citizen of India is entitled to, including:

  1. Right to Equality
  2. Right to Freedom
  3. Right against Exploitation
  4. Right to Freedom of Religion
  5. Cultural and Educational Rights
  6. Right to Constitutional Remedies

In addition to the Constitution, the Protection of Human Rights Act of 1993 was enacted by the Indian Parliament to establish the National Human Rights Commission (NHRC) for the protection and promotion of human rights in India. The NHRC is an independent statutory body that investigates and intervenes in cases of human rights violations, and also works to promote awareness and education about human rights issues.

The Indian government has also ratified several international human rights treaties and conventions, including the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights, and the Convention on the Rights of the Child. These international commitments further reinforce the protection of human rights in India

By kuvar

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *